Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

The first sounds I heard when I woke up were the sounds of the Jumuah Prayer coming from the tv, then the sounds of my siblings playing on the phone in the bed next to mine.
It seemed like there was no going to the souq today, so after getting up and doing my prayer I unrolled my yoga mat (well, if you can call the cheapest mat from Décathlon a yoga mat) and played my favorite yoga video (note how many times I say yoga in the same sentence). I kept on going through the practice while concentrating on my breath, paying attention to how my body feels, and trying to push my limit a bit further in order to become more flexible. 
 

Ramadan Day 2: Mindfulness and Spanish

In the end of the session I just sat there in a pure mindful moment, one of the moments that happen more frequently lately, my attention usually goes to my hands, I notice how they feel, how they look... Then my attention goes to the sounds around me, the sound of the cars and the people outside, the chirping birds, the conversations inside the house; I feel truly mezmerised by being here, here in this universe, experiencing this lifetime, and I feel truly grateful for every single experience I had and am having, for every single emotion I felt. It's easy to incorporate these mindful moments in everyday life, all you need to do is stop, breathe, and direct your full attention to the present moment, notice what are the sounds that surround you, what smells, check on how your body feels, usually the breath or the heartbeat are easy things to start with in order to achieve body mindfulness, and they always make me feel grateful for this body that doesn't doubt in itself once and never stops working to keep me alive.
Here is music that helps me calm my mind and makes me feel grateful and grounded:

This music accompagnied me through my Spanish lesson of the day (and it's playing now while I'm writing this blogpost). My history with the Spanish language dates a long way back, to all the summers when our family that lives in Spain comes to visit, we would all gather at my grandma's and have a good time, and spanish would be all around us because my uncle's wife didn't speak Arabic and my cousins were only begining to learn it. I would lie if I said I learned anything from them, except for "mañana" and " la playa" which -being in the same sentence- ususally meant we were going to the beach the following day. Then summer 2015 came and I decided I would start learning some spanish, I used an application on my tablet and I was surprised by how many things I actually knew without having ever learned the language (my mind must've been recording the vocabulary all that time), then in college I had the chance to have both Spanish and German classes, I feel like I have a lot of informations in my head but not enough to read a book in spanish or hold a conversation, and that's why I started learning Spanish again, this time using the website spanishpod101
Learning something is the most exciting, meaningful thing that one can do, and for me there's nothing better than languages ( it kind of gets me closer to the feeling of traveling). So here I am learning Spanish at home, and in the back of my mind is the book I bought two years ago called "Muerte en el castillo", I could never go further than the first page, but one day I'll be able to read it all.
Love.

Ramadan Day 2: Mindfulness and Spanish
Tag(s) : #Inspiration, #Ramadan
Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe: